Who Qualifies For Obamacare Health Insurance?

Who Qualifies For Obamacare Health Insurance?

Who qualifies for obamacare

The Affordable Care Act, commonly known as Obamacare, makes health insurance more accessible and affordable for everyone. The law offers premium tax credits (subsidies) that can help lower out-of-pocket medical costs and lower monthly bills.

In states that are eligible for the Affordable Care Act (ACA) subsidies, those earning less than 400% of the federal poverty level (or 400% in Alaska or Hawaii) may be eligible. Unfortunately, subsidies are not available to people earning more than this amount.

1. You live in the U.S.

Obamacare plans are more accessible than ever before, even for unemployed or underemployed individuals. Thanks to the Affordable Care Act (ACA), nearly half of Americans now have access to affordable health care coverage – especially those with preexisting conditions and low incomes who were previously denied coverage due to state expansion of Medicaid. Furthermore, it has required insurers to offer a range of new products including high-deductible plans – leading to fewer illnesses and deaths annually.

Aside from the meek harrier, you’ll also have access to an array of benefits like free preventive visits and prescriptions. There’s a reason Obamacare has become the most popular healthcare program in America; it helps keep your doctor and keep medical costs from spiraling out of control.

2. You are a U.S. citizen or national

The vast majority of individuals born in the United States and its territories are citizens. Nonetheless, not everyone born there is a citizen.

This distinction is necessary because some U.S. nationals are noncitizens as defined by the Immigration and Naturalization Act (INA).

In 2019, only those born in American Samoa or Swains Island qualify. This also includes individuals born abroad to one or more non-citizen national parents, provided they meet residency requirements.

These individuals are safeguarded by the government and entitled to a U.S. passport as well as assistance when traveling through American embassies and consulates. Furthermore, they enjoy many other privileges but do not possess citizenship rights.

3. You are not eligible for Medicaid

Medicaid is a federal and state-run program that offers free or low-cost healthcare insurance to millions of Americans – from children and pregnant women to parents, seniors, and people living with disabilities.

Medicaid eligibility criteria differ by state, but generally speaking those who meet certain income criteria and live in low-income areas are eligible for coverage.

You may qualify for a subsidy to help offset part of your monthly health insurance premiums. Unfortunately, this financial assistance is only available to those without access to Medicare or an employer-sponsored plan offering affordable, comprehensive coverage.

Though most people who purchase health insurance through the Affordable Care Act’s exchanges are eligible for subsidies to reduce their premiums, not everyone is. Some individuals, such as seasonal workers or parents of small children, cannot qualify for Marketplace subsidies based on monthly income but would qualify for Medicaid if their yearly earnings were taken into account.

4. You are not eligible for an exemption

Prior to 2014, Americans were required to have health insurance or pay a penalty. However, in 2014 the government made it easier for people to get exemptions from this requirement due to various reasons.

In those years, millions of uninsured individuals escaped the penalty because they were exempt. Exemptions were granted for various reasons such as low income status, ineligibility for Medicaid or living outside a state that had expanded its Medicaid program, or short gaps in coverage.

In 2018, the federal government broadened the hardship exemption criteria. You can find your state’s exchange details on their website.

You May Also Like

About the Author: Raymond Donovan

1 Comment

Comments are closed.